top of page
  • Writer's pictureKimmy

Looped In's Book Club!



Have you been in search for a book club for a while now but haven't found the right group to join?


I have been wanting to be a part of a book club for almost 10 years now, but I have always hit roadblocks along my search. I've found myself either not being able to find a group or not being able to find other people my age who liked to read for pleasure. If I did find a group, I still ran into problems. I either wouldn't know anyone and it was all online, or the group wasn't accepting any new comers. Over the past few years I have found a few acquaintances who I've been able to discuss reads with and they have mentioned their struggles with finding a club to join as well. So, I am happy to announce that I am creating a book club! Looped In's Book Club!


Looped In's Book Club is going to be focused on educating and discussing all different genres of books. I would like to establish a group who is truly interested in diving deep into books and sharing our thoughts rather than holding a meeting once a month to chit-chat about life over bottles of wine.


I would like to point out that this will be my first time being a part of a book club, let alone leading one. So, I'm sure there will be a few rounds of trial and error to figure out how to assemble this group best. I've done my research and believe I have a well rounded idea of how I would like for this group to be organized.


In order to come to the conclusion of basic guidelines of the club I conducted a poll on Instagram of what others were most keen on for how the book club should be organized.

 

Looped In's Book Club Guidelines


How many books are we going to read a month? What types of books?

We will be reading 1 book per month. These books will be among different genres. Literary fiction, historical fiction, mystery, women's literature, self-help, classics, romance, memoirs, etc.


Who will choose the book for each month?

The book of the month will be chosen by a VOTE from our members. On the 20th day of each month I will be conducting a poll between two different books. The book with the most votes will be the read for the NEXT month. I want to let everyone know of the next book ahead of time to leave enough time for people to purchase.


When do we begin reading each book?

Once the book for the next month is selected, please purchase, and then begin reading on the 1st day of the next month.


How often will we meet for book discussions?

We will meet for discussions once a month. At the end of each month I will set a date and send a calendar invite to host a discussion about our monthly read. This may differ slightly each month depending on schedules, days of the week, etc.


Where will we meet for discussions each month?

As we all know, this time during the Coronavirus has put a pause on social gatherings. For the sake of everyone's safety, I will host a large group Zoom call for our monthly discussions. If and when we do start to meet in person this meeting will most likely being in Stamford, CT. I understand that some of you do not live nearby so I plan on figuring out a way to Skype you in and be a part of our in-person group experience! This monthly session will be a play it by ear situation depending on how the virus is doing.


How will the discussions be conducted?

I will be the primary person to organize the monthly meetings. However, I would like for every member to come ready with questions or talking points about each read. This group should give every person an opportunity to discuss their thoughts!


Are there any mandatory rules?

Besides making sure to read each book in entirety you MUST have a beverage with you during our discussions. This can be any kind of beverage! Wine, water, a glass of milk, La Croix, beer, pineapple juice...anything! I am all about having a "cheers" before we start diving into conversation.


Are book suggestions allowed?

Yes, of course! Please always send through suggestions that you think the rest of the group would like.


How do I join?

Please email me or direct message me on Instagram with your interest in joining the club! I will need to take down your name and email address to send through any information.


Can I join at any time? Or does enrollment close on a specific date?

Yes, you can join at any time! I do not want to exclude anyone at anytime. All are welcome no matter your gender, age, etc.

 

SCHEDULE

Our first read begins on July 1st, 2020.


June 20th: A poll will go out to vote between two different books for the month of July.


June 21st: The book for JULY will be announced.


July 1st: Begin reading July book.


July 20th: A poll will go out to vote between two different books for the month of August.


July 21st: The book for AUGUST will be announced.


July 30th: JULY BOOK DISCUSSION.


August 1st: Begin reading August book.


*This is how the schedule will continue to be for future months, unless we need to reorganize!

 

Please contact me with any additional questions or suggestions regarding Looped In's Book Club! I look forward to creating a powerful group that is excited to gather together to read and educate ourselves on all of the literature out there! Let's do this!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page